the IT industry REEEEEAAAAALLLLLYYYY sucks!

Anything and Everything political, express your view, but play nice
SkiDork
Site Admin

the IT industry REEEEEAAAAALLLLLYYYY sucks!

Post by SkiDork »

I've been a consultant with this company for over 2 years now. It was supposed to be a try before you buy thing at first - then I got the shaft because a new CEO came in and cancelled all pending hires.

Then my group was insourced to the company we were administering their systems for, and because I was still a consulant at the old place they couldn't hire me full time at the new place.

In the mean time, Ty got laid off so now we're paying an additional $850 a month for COBRA insurance. Not to mention the fact that I haven't taken a single day off since last September due to the fact that it hurts us a lot financially (didn't hurt as much when Ty was working which was the situation when I was first hired). Also I work for free on the weekends (when I have to work, which is not too often) since they don't have a way of paying constultants for weekend work...

I've been trying to get hired full time by the company since December - always get told "It's in the pipe line but things take a long time... yadda yadda yadda..."

Now to add insult to injury, the company just called up the consulting firm I work for and want to decrease my pay - they say there are plenty of people in India who would work for a lot less....

JEEEEEZZZEEE!!!

I'd love to just chuck it all and move to VT or UT or something and do my own work, or buy a bed and breakfast etc. and quit this freakin rat race!!!
Wait Till Next Year!!! Image

Iceman 10/11 Season

ImageImageImage
XtremeJibber2001
Signature Poster

Post by XtremeJibber2001 »

Sounds like industry norms to me, unfortunate still.