Question on AT equipment & backcountry skiing

Communicate with fellow Zoners

Moderators: SkiDork, spanky, Bubba

Snoprincess
Beginner On Rentals

Question on AT equipment & backcountry skiing

Post by Snoprincess »

So I'm new to this. My first backcountry ski trip planned tomorrow. (I've been told "even a average skiier can do this trail"). Turns out I can't find anyone in
Leb that rents AT packages. Great! Do I really need it? Aside from breaking my back carrying my boots.. And skiis on my back lol. If I really like backcountry and I'm sure I will. Is it best to just have AT binding put on the skiis I have now? Any advice would be appreciated
Stormchaser
Level 10K poster

Re: Question on AT equipment & backcountry skiing

Post by Stormchaser »

Snoprincess wrote:So I'm new to this. My first backcountry ski trip planned tomorrow. (I've been told "even a average skiier can do this trail"). Turns out I can't find anyone in
Leb that rents AT packages. Great! Do I really need it? Aside from breaking my back carrying my boots.. And skiis on my back lol. If I really like backcountry and I'm sure I will. Is it best to just have AT binding put on the skiis I have now? Any advice would be appreciated
Seek out a pair of 'trekkers'. http://www.backcountryaccess.com/produc ... -trekkers/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

They adapt an alpine binding and allow you to skin with your regular skis and boots. Then you just need a set of skins for your skis.

If you like it, spring for a bc setup.
ImageImageImageImage
Devils Fiddle
Black Carver

Post by Devils Fiddle »

Trekkers get the job done and you can use your normal rig. Just add skins and you have basic rig. Carrying your boots and wearing snow shoes is a ton of work and totally inefficient and will cripple the group.
Terrapin Station
Blue Chatterbox

Post by Terrapin Station »

Devil's Fiddle is right. You will be a lot slower than the rest of your crew with snowshoes on lugging skis and boots on your back.