What Skills Do Expert Skiers Have?

Communicate with fellow Zoners

Moderators: SkiDork, spanky, Bubba

freeski
Post Office

What Skills Do Expert Skiers Have?

Post by freeski »

Back when I was skiing 30-35 times a year and getting better each year. I used to wonder what else I needed to be able to do to be an expert all around skier. Here are some qualifications I used to toss around thinking about this.
note: I'm not an expert and have never been.

An expert should be able to:
- Ski well in all conditions.
- Be able to ski gates competitively.
- Be able to ski moguls.
- Should be able to do a helicopter.
- Go 20' off a jump and land comfortably.
- Should be able to drop off of a 10' cliff and land in decent conditions.
- Be able to ski steep trees.
- Be able to ski fast and in control in variable conditions.
- Carve not skid turns.

Some of these make sense others are arbitrary. Wondering how you people look at it. Most skiers who are decent athletes and get enough time on the slopes probably have thought about it.
I Belong A Long Way From Here.
steamboat1
Post Office

Re: What Skills Do Expert Skiers Have?

Post by steamboat1 »

#1 only
Killington_Lover
Slalom Racer

Post by Killington_Lover »

helicopter lol. us younger cats would call that a 3 ;). I would say all of the above is about the criteria I would say to define an expert. However I think the jump/spinning thing isn't mandatory...only for us park rats/those feeling adventurous. I think a true expert will also not bitch and moan about conditions and enjoy every chance they get on the hill... this isn't golf ;)
Ski It If You Can!..
Highway Star
Level 10K poster

Post by Highway Star »

freeski wrote:Back when I was skiing 30-35 times a year and getting better each year. I used to wonder what else I needed to be able to do to be an expert all around skier. Here are some qualifications I used to toss around thinking about this.

- Be able to ski moguls.
- Carve not skid turns.